National Quality Standard of Care

Australia has a National Quality Standard that is linked to a national learning framework which recognises that children learn from birth.

The National Quality Standard supports the implementation of the Early Years Learning Framework by ensuring that the necessary environments, facilities, staffing arrangements, resources and management structures in early childhood education and care facilities are in place.

Combined, these frameworks outline fundamental components to inform and guide educators and staff of Edrington Park Child Care Centre in the delivery of nationally consistent and high-quality experiences, programs and care.

This framework is a key mechanism for achieving high quality and drives continuous improvement in early childhood education and care for all families, educators and staff of Edrington Park Child Care Centre.

The National Quality Framework includes:

  • National Law and National Regulations
  • National Quality Standard
  • assessment and quality rating process
  • national learning frameworks

National Quality Standard

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a high national benchmark for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services in Australia.

The NQS includes 7 quality areas that are important outcomes for children. Services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.

Quality Area 1 - Educational program and practice

Educational program and practice of educators are child-centred, stimulating and maximise opportunities for enhancing and extending each child’s learning and development.  Read more >

Quality Area 2- Children's health and safety

Children have the right to experience quality education and care in an environment that safeguards and promotes their health, safety, and wellbeing. Read more >

Quality Area 3 - Physical environment

Physical environment is safe, suitable and provides a rich and diverse range of experiences that promote children’s learning and development.  Read more >

Quality Area 4 – Staffing arrangements

Qualified and experienced educators, who develop warm, respectful relationships with children, create predictable environments and encourage children’s active engagement in the learning program.  Read more >


Quality Area 5 - Relationships with Children

Relationships with children are responsive, respectful and promote children’s sense of security and belonging.  Read more >

Quality Area 6 - Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

Collaborative relationships with families are fundamental to achieving quality outcomes for children, and community partnerships based on active communication, consultation and collaboration are essential. Read more >

Quality Area 7 - Governance and leadership

Effective leadership and governance of the service contributes to quality environments for children’s learning and development. Effective leaders establish shared values for the service and set clear direction for the service’s continuous improvement.    Read more >